Viva La Mix!: Free Downloads from the Interweb


After the success of last week’s Viva La Mix! mixtape, our research concludes you like free downloads of sweet-ass new singles. Shocking. All we can say about this week’s mix is “The Dude abides.” Avoid the hours you spend trolling blogs for new singles and let us sift and winnow the best new tunes for you. Once you’re done downloading, check out our Viva Radio page for this week’s show (which offers a nice preview of next week’s mixtape), and browse the 60-plus playlists in our archive.

1. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart- “Everything With You” The New York quartet’s debut album made a huge blog splash last week and this tune highlights their no-frills, throw-back pop rock. [Download MP3] via The Yellow Stereo 2. Telefon Tel Aviv- “Helen of Troy” The same week as electronic music duo Telefon Tel Aviv’s Immolate Yourself album came out, we learned the sad news that Charlie Cooper, one half of the duo, died and will not see the reception of their best album yet. [Download MP3] via The Yellow Stereo 3. Beirut- “My Wife, Lost In The Wild” Woah, check out the electronic groove on this track from Beirut’s new double EP March Of The Zapotec / Realpeople Holland. [Download MP3 (zShare link)] via Ear, Eye, Nose Candy 4. The Mae Shi- “Run to Your Grave” We revived this hit from last year in anticipation of the party-pop band’s set with Les Savy Fav for SF Noise Pop on March 1 at the Mezzanine. [Download MP3] via Hooves on the Turf 5. Ladyfinger- “Little Things” Listen for the kick-ass breakdown in the last minute of this first single off of Dusk, Ladyfinger’s sophomore album on Saddle Creek. [Download MP3] via Omahype, NE 6. Junior Boys- “Bits and Pieces” Grab this Chromeo-esque dance track before the Canadian duo’s third full-length comes out next month. [Download MP3] via Obscure Sound 7. The National- “So Far Around the Bend” (from Dark Was the Night) It’s been hard getting our ears around tracks from this all-star compilation, but we liked what we’ve heard so far, including this repeatable National song. [Download MP3] via The Bee Charmer 8. Bishop Allen- “The Ancient Common Sense of Things” Out before the release of their new Grrr…album on Dead Oceans, this single is about as comfortable as your bed before getting up for work in the morning. [Download MP3] via Hear Ya 9. Juana Molina- “Vive Solo” This track off Molina’s recent Un Día (she’s touring the U.S. right now) perfectly captures the Argentine’s fantasy-folk sound and unique, airy voice. [Download MP3] via KEXP 10. Coeur De Pirate- “Comme Des Enfants” (Le Matos Andy Carmichael Remix) This electro remix is a randy version of the song we featured on our recent RCRD LBL winter mix from 18 year-old French Canadian sensation, Béatrice Martin. [Download MP3] via Sundtrak