The Flavorpill Mixtape XLVII: Daft Punk, Kid Cudi, Grandfather


Did you know that November is National Peanut Butter Month? Neither did we. And we may not have any jelly, but we sure do have some jams (ba-dum-ching!). For your auditory pleasure, we’re serving up another heaping helping of new music, from a taste of the Daft Punk-composed Tron soundtrack to a delightful glimpse of the upcoming 30 Rock soundtrack. And, as always, right click and save as to download, or scroll to the bottom to collect ’em all.

1. “Derezzed” by Daft Punk

It’s been a great year for movie soundtracks, what with Trent Reznor’s excellent work on The Social Network and Hans Zimmer’s bone-chilling innovations for Inception. But 2010’s not over yet, and we’re anticipating one more juicy movie score: the Tron: Legacy soundtrack, written and performed by Daft Punk. From this sneak-peek track, it sounds like it’s going to be a fairly spectacular accompaniment to the promised lasers and zipping motorcycles in the film.

2. “Tremors” by Grandfather

File Grandfather on the list of things that Steve Albini doesn’t hate — at least for now. This Brooklyn trio got their start through Kickstarter and recently wrapped up work on their debut, Why I’d Try. “Tremors” kicks its way off the starting line with arena-worthy riffs, a snarling, crunching, pounding track. If there was any justice in the world, every Soundgarden song would be quietly replaced with this instead. Trust us. It’s better.

3. “Shark Ridden Waters” by Gruff Rhys

Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys has been busy with his solo projects lately, working on a host of collaborations and gearing up to release his third solo album. “Shark Ridden Waters” is a bouncy, melodic track, but with tinges of something darker below — some blood in the water, if you will. It lopes along with Rhys’ melodic singing, intercut with what sound like effects from a Jaws movie. Stay out of the water, kids.

4. “Take Me Somewhere” by Tennis

The dreamy indie-pop husband-wife team Tennis are releasing their first album on Fat Possum records in January, and it promises to add a little bit of sun-soaked melody to those dark winter days. It’s the listening equivalent of a sailboat trip. You can almost see the dappled waves and feel the breeze.

5. “Lemon’s Theme” by Christopher Cross (ft. Tina Fey)

Be honest. What’s missing in your life is a Tina Fey duet with Christopher Cross —and lucky for us, the upcoming 30 Rock soundtrack provided just such a thing. It might not be something you’d want to pump at your next party — the soft-rock saxophone noodling might get you a couple stares — but for your headphones or in the car? We’re betting you’ll be singing along to the Liz Lemon theme in no time.

6. “Michelle” by Rubblebucket (Beatles cover)

This octet has a little bit of everything — horns, triangle, handclaps, warm, flattened vocals, and totally encompassing dance beats. We’re hoping they herald the return of the mega-band, Polyphonic Spree style. Just without the robes, and with more teeth.

7. “Flying Overseas” by Theophilus London (ft. Solange Knowles and Devonte Hynes)

The second single from the ridiculously prolific Theophilus London is out and available, thanks to Green Label Sound. It’s a track that juxtaposes London’s grounded rapping with airy, sweet vocals. London said that it’s about imagining exotic lands, a theme that really comes through in the daydreamy number. And is it just us, or does Solange Knowles sound a little bit like Feist here?

8. “Phone Home from the Edge” by Dinowalrus

We’ve liked Dinowalrus since we saw them around Brooklyn several years ago, and we especially like the direction this track is taking thing. It’s a little bit psych-rock, a little bit Casiotone from your parents basement, and a little bit raggedy, No Wave guitar punk.

9. “Understand at All” by Cloud Nothings

Dylan Baldi’s one-man bedroom punk project is deliciously lo-fi, infused with rollicking energy and teeth gnashing. It’s a little friendlier than Jay Reatard, but with just as much destructive soul.

10. “Maybe” by Kid Cudi

This is a bonus track off Kid Cudi’s sophomore album, Man on the Moon II: THe Legend of Mr. Rager, and it has Cudi singing over an atmospheric, codeine-laced backing track. Rather than him spitting rhymes, he’s pouring them out over a pillow of synthesizer. Which is fine with us — it’s the sort of rap-rock we can get down with (not you, Linkin Park).

Click here to download the entire mix.