The Flavorpill Mixtape: Arcade Fire, Ty Segall, Stephin Merritt


Memorial Day weekend is almost upon us, which means the official beginning of flip-flop season. Bust out your beach towels and your boombox, because we’ve got the jams for your barbecue night. We’ve got new stuff from Ty Segall, the Arcade Fire, and Battles, plus a glimpse at Stephin Merritt’s new album. So buckle up and right click + “Save As” to save each track or scroll to the bottom to download the whole mix.

1. “Wall Street” by Battles

Thanks to the French website La Blogotheque, we have another sampling of Battles’ forthcoming album, Gloss Drop, due out June 7th. It’s loud, it’s proud, it’s complicated, and you can watch a video of the band playing it here.

2. “Still Life” by The Horrors

This new one from The Horrors is lighter, airier, and less sludgy than their previous works, but we still like it. Their new album, Skying, is due out in July.

3. “Speaking in Tongues” by the Arcade Fire

The deluxe version of The Suburbs is coming out soon, and with it, two bonus tracks from the band that had previously been left out. The most impressive one, we think, is “Speaking in Tongues,” which features David Byrne on back-up vocals.

4. “You Make the Sun Fry” by Ty Segall

Ty Segall is hard at work on his first Drag City-issued LP, which promises to be sunnier and more sprightly than his previous stuff. “You Make the Sun Fry” practically emits heat it’s so drenched in summery light.

5. “The Sun Always Reminds Me of You” by Marissa Nadler

The second track from Marissa Nadler’s upcoming album is a tearjerker with a subtle country twang. Her self-titled fifth full-length is due out June 14th.

6. “Repatriated” by Handsome Furs

The Handsome Furs’ third album, Sound Kapital, is on the way June 28th, featuring songs like “Repatriated” that were written only on keyboards.

7. “Throw Away This” by Telepathe

Eccentric duo Telepathe is releasing a single to warm us up for their next album; “Throw Away This” and “Destroyer” are out on June 7th to bring a little weirdness to your summer.

8. “Forever and a Day” by Stephin Merritt

Stephin Merritt’s forthcoming Obscurities is pretty much what it sounds like — cast-offs, demos, songs previously lost and now found. “Forever and a Day” is a cut from Merritt’s unfinished science fiction opera.

9. “Lose It” by Austra [Diamond Rings remix]

Double the new Canadian musician, double the fun — right, guys? This jumpy, frazzled remix gives some nervous energy to Austra’s “Lose It.”

10. “World of Doubt” by Tom Vek

Tom Vek’s second album has been almost five years in the making, and he’s announcing it with the video for “World of Doubt,” which you can check out below. Leisure Seizure is out June 6th.

Download the whole mix here!