10 MP3s You Need to Download for Free This Week: Joanna Newsom, Joe Jackson and Iggy Pop


It’s Friday, and we’re back with another installment of our regular roundup of downloadable MP3 goodness from around the web. This week, there’s a live version of a new track that Joanna Newsom played recently, which will no doubt have fans salivating. There’s also Joe Jackson duetting with Iggy Pop, Corin Tucker being raucous, an undiscovered Exile on Main Street cut*, and new tracks from Thee Oh Sees, Mungolian Jetset, and The Raveonettes. (*Possibly.) In other words, there’s plenty of interesting sounds awaiting you after the jump, and since they won’t cost a penny or land you an RIAA lawsuit, as your attorneys we advise you to start downloading immediately.

Joanna Newsom — “The Diver’s Wife”

A live version of a new song? For free download? Yes please.

Joe Jackson feat. Iggy Pop — “It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)” If you’ve ever wondered what Joe Jackson and Iggy Pop duetting on a Duke Ellington song might sound like, well, wonder no longer. (You may need to do the old right-click “Save As…” on that link, by the way.)

Corin Tucker Band — “Groundhog Day” We seem to hear no end of Carrie Brownstein these days, so it’s nice to hear from the other great songwriting talent in Sleater-Kinney again — this track is the lead single from Corin Tucker and her band’s upcoming second record Kill My Blues, and it finds her getting angry again. Excellent. Get it via Stereogum.

Thee Oh Sees — “Lupine Dominus” It’s been at least half an hour since the last Thee Oh Sees album, so it must be time for another one! In all seriousness, though, we’re always happy to hear from the Bay Area noiseniks, and this track — the first single from their 14th studio album, which is entitled Putrifiers II and out in September — is most excellent. Grab it here.

Clark — “MFB Skank” If cerebral electronica is your thing, you’re probably already all over Clark’s Iradelphic, which came out earlier this year on Warp. The producer has plenty more material, it seems, because he’s released a whole bunch of extra tracks from the album under the name The Iradelphic Sessions — you can download one of them, “MFB Skank,” via this link in exchange for your email address. If you want to try before you “buy,” it’s also streaming at YouTube.

Mungolian Jetset — “Toccata” Meanwhile, if you prefer your electronic music to come with a side serving of psychedelic lunacy and mumblings about The Knights of Jumungus, you’re probably as excited about a new Mungolian Jetset track as we are. This track isn’t nearly as whacked out as some of their previous work — it’s a pretty, downtempo slice of spacey disco that’s reminiscent of Lindstrøm — and it’s great. Download it via XLR8R.

They Might Be Giants — “Robot Parade” (live) We mentioned earlier this week that They Might Be Giants are releasing a deluxe reissue of their 2002 kids’ album No! The reissue comes with a bunch of bonus tracks, and you can download one of them — a live version of “Robot Parade” — right here.

Foxygen — “Waitin 4 U” Good grief — how much does Foxygen vocalist Sam France sound like Mick Jagger? This whole thing has the air of a lost jam from the Exile on Main Street sessions, but it’s actually taken from the band’s album Take the Kids off Broadway, which is due out on Jagjaguwar next month. The track is available for download via Pitchfork.

The Raveonettes — “Observations” We’ve always liked the Raveonettes in their quieter moments, and as such, we’re definitely enjoying this track — it’s a pretty, reflective piano ballad, which veers close to being soppy but somehow manages to stay on the right side of the saccharine line. Get it here.

Why? — “Sod in the Seed” And finally, if you’ve been craving the return of Yoni Wolf’s geek-hop, then crave no longer! This is the title track from his new EP, which is his first release since 2009’s Eskimo Snow, and you can download it via Pitchfork. Of course.