Viva la Mix #16: Downloads From Neon Indian, Yo La Tengo, the Mountain Goats, and Atlas Sound


August might be the cruelest month for new releases, but there are still plenty of exciting tunes surfacing on the internet thanks to fall’s stellar lineup. So give your fingers a little warm-up stretch and get ready to “Right Click, Save Link As,” because after the jump we present 10 essential downloads from our latest Viva Radio show that we consider required listening at Flavorpill HQ. Enjoy!

1. Neon Indian – “Deadbeat Summer” We interviewed one half of this mysterious synth-pop duo (VEGA lead singer Alan Palomo) last month; this warped, catchy track sounds exactly like we think a summer song should — and also explains all of those comparisons to MGMT. [Download Now] via Big Stereo

2. Delorean – “Deli” The Barcelona-based electro-pop four-piece’s latest EP, Ayrton Senna, is a big ‘ol dance party. And as Pitchfork noted in their review, the breakbeats and youthful enthusiasm of “Deli” make it a stand out. [Download Now] via Together in Digital Dreams

3. Yo La Tengo – “Here to Fall” This string-heavy number off of the band’s upcoming September release Popular Songs is a mellow mediation on love, with a funky baseline that keeps things fresh yet familiar. [Download Now] via Stereogum

4. John Talabot – “Sunshine” Talabot is part of a very select sub genre called glo-house. That’s really all you need to know. [Download Now] via Pitchfork

5. Lake – “Madagascar” Lake’s upcoming album Let’s Build a Roof isn’t out until early October, but in the meantime, you can let the Olympia-based group take you on a little trip to the islands courtesy of this reggae-influenced track. [Download Now] via Stereogum

6. The Mountain Goats – “Genesis 3:23” Did John Darnielle have some sort of religious awakening? We don’t really care. Rather than coming off like Christian rock, this song about regret assures us that he’s still a heretic at heart. [Download Now] via Rawk Blog

7. Washed Out – “Feel It All Around” Ernest Greene delivers up lo-fi pop out of Columbia, South Carolina; this somber song is the kind of dreamy track that seems made for coming down in your bedroom at the end of very long night. [Download Now] via Surfing on Steam

8. Monsters of Folk – “Say Please” Monsters of Folk are an indie supergroup composed of M.Ward, Jim James of My Morning Jacket and Conor Oberst. “Say Please” is their first single, and we think it sounds a tad dominated by Team Oberst; their self-titled album is due out September 22. [Download Now] via RCRD LBL

9. Atlas Sound – “Walkabout” Atlas Sound is Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox’s solo project; this Panda Bear/Atlas Sound collaboration from his upcoming Logos album sounds exactly like you think it would. And that’s a great thing.

[Download Now] via My Old Kentucky Blog

10. Lou Barlow – “Gravitate” Barlow describes his upcoming Goodnight Unknown LP as “a cross between my later work with Folk Implosion and my earlier work with Sebadoh.” This sound of this track has us looking forward to the entire solo album, which features a guest appearance by the Melvins’ Dale Crover. [Download Now] via Stereogum