10 MP3s You Need to Download for Free This Week: Tame Impala, The Antlers


It’s Friday, which means another installment of our regular roundup of downloadable MP3 goodness from around the web. This week it’s remix central, with another excellent Tame Impala remix from Canyons and a similarly worthy Antlers remix from Tricky, of all people, along with Laurel Halo vs. Lianne Le Havas and Peaking Lights vs. TEEN. Elsewhere, there’s the return of Crystal Castles and Jason Molina, fine new tracks from Beacon and Guards, and plentiful other goodness. Since all this action costs precisely nothing, what are you waiting for? All the download links await after the jump.

Tame Impala — “Elephant” (Canyons Wooly Mammoth remix) Canyons have done some rather excellent remixes for their compatriots Tame Impala over the years, so it’s no surprise to see them pressed into action on this new track. Their remix nestles nicely alongside one by Todd Rundgren, of all people, on the single release — you can get it in exchange for your email address at Modular.

The Antlers — “Crest” (Tricky remix) And while we’re on remixes, Tricky remixing The Antlers? Stranger things have happened at sea, we guess… And this does sound pretty great, actually. Get it here.

Crystal Castles — “Wrath of God” Good grief — it’s not Lo-Bat who’ll be suing Crystal Castles this time around, it’s Alice Deejay. This is the sound of the Canadian duo embracing ’90s trance styles, with only Alice Glass’ way-back-in-the-mix vocals and a slightly wigged-out final 30 seconds reminding us that this is in fact the band that used to make music that sounded like someone taking to a Commodore 64 with a jackhammer. Um. Well, see what you think at Stereogum.

Beacon — “Safety’s Off” Spooky pseudo-R&B is all the rage these days, so get a hold of this rather excellent track by Brooklyn duo Beacon — it’s the lead track off their new EP For Now, which is out next week. Get it via The Fader.

Guards — “Silver Lining” Breezy indie pop for a Friday afternoon? Look no further.

Jason Molina — “The Harvest Law” Yay for new Jason Molina. This track is apparently from a project that started as a record about the work of Rhode Island artist William Schaff, and it’s as sparsely beautiful as we’ve come to expect from Molina. It’s available here.

Prince Rama — “Those Who Live for Love Will Live Forever” So this is Prince Rama pretending to be a band called I.M.M.O.R.T.A.L.I.F.E., as part of a concept album about imaginary bands releasing chart hits just before the apocalypse. Oh, if only we hadn’t already done geekiest concept albums. Anyway, you can download this track here.

Born Gold — “Sky Bicycle” Anyone who saw Grimes at Mercury Lounge in March will remember Born Gold as the hilariously theatrical support act. They have a new album due in October, and this is the first single from said album — it’s not nearly as absurdly over-the-top as their live show, but still worth a listen. Get it from Pitchfork.

TEEN — “Sleep Is Noise” (Peaking Lights remix) According to The Fader, this remix sounds like Peaking Lights “[have] submerged a dance track in a warm bath of lavender-scented epsom salts.” Um. OK. Anyway, it’s rather good: see for yourself here.

Lianne Le Havas — “Forget” (Laurel Halo remix) And one final piece of remixing action to round out this week’s selection — Laurel Halo’s pleasantly spaced-out reinterpretation of Lianne Le Havas’s single “Forget.” You can grab it via XLR8R.