This Year’s Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced


The Spirit Awards are like the Academy Awards of the independent film world — and in recent years, they’ve also served as a pretty good predictor of which titles would be receiving Oscar nominations. Thanks to big budget, yet critic-friendly releases like Argo, Lincoln, Les Miserables, Zero Dark Thirty, and Life of Pi, that might not necessarily be the case this year. That said, we imagine that you’ll be hearing about more than a few of these films in the awards season ahead, specifically David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom, which lead the pack with five nods a piece. Also receiving multiple nominations: Beasts of the Southern Wild, Middle of Nowhere, and Keep the Lights On, which scored four nominations each. Click through to view the full list of nominees, and hit the comments to let us know who you favor to win in each category!

BEST FEATURE Beasts of the Southern Wild Bernie Keep the Lights On Moonrise Kingdom Silver Linings Playbook

BEST DIRECTOR Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

BEST SCREENPLAY Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On

BEST FIRST FEATURE Fill the Void Gimme the Loot Safety Not Guaranteed Sound of My Voice The Perks of Being a Wallflower

BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD Breakfast with Curtis Middle of Nowhere Mosquita y Mari Starlet The Color Wheel

BEST FEMALE LEAD Linda Cardellini, Return Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

BEST MALE LEAD Jack Black, Bernie Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook John Hawkes, The Sessions Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe Wendell Pierce, Four

BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister Ann Dowd, Compliance Helen Hunt, The Sessions Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

BEST SUPPORTING MALE Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere Michael Péna, End of Watch Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints Lol Crawley, Here Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

BEST DOCUMENTARY How to Survive a Plague Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present The Central Park Five The Invisible War The Waiting Room

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM Amour, Michael Haneke Once Upon A Time in Anatolia, Nuri Bilge Ceylan Rust And Bone, Jacques Audiard Sister, Ursula Meier War Witch, Kim Nguyen

16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD Nobody Walks, Alicia Van Couvering Prince Avalanche, Derrick Tseng Stones in the Sun, Mynette Louie

19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD Pincus, David Fenster Gimme the Loot, Adam Leon Electrick Children, Rebecca Thomas

STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD Leviathan, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel The Waiting Room, Peter Nicks Only the Young, Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD Starlet Director: Sean Baker Casting Director: Julia Kim Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone