Nine Downloads for ’09: Songs You’ll Be Listening to Next Year


With year-end best-of lists rolling in from all directions, we’re already knee-deep in premature music nostalgia (can we get a Kanye?!). We’re all for laying out the accolades, but why linger on what was?

With so much to come, we’ve already got sights set squarely on ’09. After the jump, download links to nine killer tracks from next year’s most-anticipated albums. From the look of things, it’s going to be something of a stunner…

1. Dent May, “You Can’t Force A Dance Party” [Download MP3] (from The Good Feeling Music of Dent May & His Magnificent Ukulele, out 2.2.09 on Paw Tracks)

2. Animal Collective, “Brother Sport” [Stream MP3] (from Merriweather Post Pavilion, out 1.20.09 on Domino)

3. Wavves, “California Goth” [Download MP3] (from Wavves, out 2.3.09 on De Stijl)

4. Nickel Eye, “Dying Star” [Download MP3] (from The Time of the Assassins, out Jan 27 on Rykodisc)

5. The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, “This Love is Fucking Right” [Download MP3] (from The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, out 2.3.09 on Slumberland Records)

6. Gentleman Reg, “You Can’t Get It Back” [Download MP3] (from Jet Black, out in early 2009 on Arts & Crafts)

7. Ben Kweller, “Hurtin You” [Download MP3] (from Changing Horses, out Early 2009 on ATO Records)

8. Andrew Bird, “Oh No” [Stream MP3] (from Noble Beast, out 1.20.09 on Fat Possum)

9. Bon Iver, “Beach Baby” [Download MP3] (from the Blood Bank EP, out 1.20.09 on Jagjaguwar)