Listen to New Order’s First New Song in a Decade


The September 25 release date of New Order’s upcoming album, Music Complete, is fast approaching, and in anticipation the band shared the first track this morning. It just so happens to be their first studio recording in a decade. (They’ve debuted other tracks from the album live.)

It’s called “Restless,” which, given the context of 10 years without producing music, seems like an apt title for a track selected to break the silence. The song’s coasting melody pairs melancholy with rhythmic pep, evoking the title’s and lyrics’ frantic desire for movement from within a lull, mourning stagnancy and lack of interest, but ending on an optimistic note: “I am lost for words/But I kept my nerve/But it’s not hopeless/If you take rest.”

The album will feature collaborations with Iggy Pop, La Roux’s Elly Jackson, and Brandon Flowers of the Killers; notably absent from the album is former New Order bassist Peter Hook. Check out the new track:

Via Consequence of Sound.