Mark Kozelek Announces Free ‘Down In The Willow Garden’ EP


Mark Kozelek of Sun Kil Moon fame — the artist who got nasty with journalist Laura Snapes — has announced a new and free four-track EP called Down in the Willow Garden. The release is due out October 7 from his own Caldo Verde Records. The EP will come free with any purchase from the company. As Stereogum points out, the title of the EP might refer to a traditional Appalachian murder ballad, which fits in with Kozelek’s aesthetic and the Ohio region where the singer hails from. Kozelek’s newest Sun Kil Moon album, Universal Themes, was released this summer and featured contributions from Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley. But many aren’t ready to stop chatting about the 2014 album Benji, which we voted one of the best of last year. Here’s the full track list for Down in the Willow Garden.

1 “Down In The Willow Garden (Version 1)” 2 “Sick Again” 3 “Chapter 8 Of John Connolly’s ‘A Song of Shadows’” 4 “Down In The Willow Garden (Version 2)”