‘Thank Your Lucky Stars’ This Isn’t a Hoax: Beach House Will Release A Second LP in 2015


Maybe Wayne Coyne was onto something (instead of just on something): just a little over a month after releasing their fifth LP, Depression Cherry, Beach House confirms their sixth LP, Thank Your Lucky Stars, will be released on October 16th via Sub Pop Records.

Announced late yesterday afternoon on Twitter, the band emphasized that the new LP is not a B-sides album, nor is it a companion album to Depression Cherry (though that won’t stop music critics from treating it as such), or meant to be a “surprise album” (though a second full-length album in one calendar year can only be interpreted as such). On their Facebook page, they wrote:

It was recorded at the same time as Depression Cherry, but for us, it’s very much a different record. All of its songs were written after the DC songs. Along the way we realized that we didn’t want it to be released in the traditional manner.

Stereogum also reports that there were several clues on the Depression Cherry lyric website that hinted at new(er) music; though the website was already filled with Easter eggs, files for new artwork and photos, as well as pages for lyrics of unreleased songs were activated earlier this week before they were quickly taken down. The URL for the original lyric website now redirects to www.dcandtyls.com, (i.e., an acronym for “Depression Cherry and Thank Your Lucky Stars”)

The album cover and tracklist to Thank Your Lucky Stars is below; no word on whether “Helicopter Dream (I’m Awake)” will appear as a hidden track.

  1. “Majorette“
  2. “She’s So Lovely“
  3. “All Your Yeahs“
  4. “One Thing“
  5. “Common Girl“
  6. “The Traveller“
  7. “Elegy To The Void“
  8. “Rough Song“
  9. “Somewhere Tonight“