DGA Nominates Five Guys for Award, Todd Haynes Isn’t One of Them


Every year, the 16,000-plus members of the Directors Guild of America nominate five films and their directors for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film. This year, the five chosen directors are also the five directors who have been pretty universally praised throughout this entire award season, including big Golden Globes winner Alejandro G. Iñarritu. But there is no Todd Haynes, who directed one of last year’s finest films, Carol. Perhaps his exclusion was due to the film’s lack of bear attacks?

The full list:

Alejandro G, Iñárritu for The Revenant Tom McCarthy for Spotlight Adam McKay for The Big Short George Miller for Mad Max: Fury Road Ridley Scott for The Martian

The DGA announced a new award this year, too, for Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director. This category is a bit more fun, and definitely more exciting. (Laszlo Nemes’ Son of Saul won the Golden Globe for Best Foreign-Language Film.) All of these films were generally great, so kudos to this one, at least, DGA.

The full list:

Fernando Coimbra A Wolf at the Door Joel Edgerton for The Gift Alex Garland for Ex Machina Marielle Heller for The Diary of a Teenage Girl Laszlo Nemes for Son of Saul

The DGA Awards will be handed out on February 6.