Rick Rubin Drops First Tracks from ‘Star Wars’-Themed Album


Rick Rubin has a fever, and the only prescription is more lightsaber! The prolific producer has put together an EDM compilation called Star Wars Headspace, which will exclusively feature songs that sample iconic sound effects from Star Wars.

According to Pitchfork, Headspace will include tracks from Flying Lotus, Rustie, A-Trak, Baauer, Röyksopp, Kaskade, Shlohmo, GTA, and others. More importantly, there will be tracks on the album based on Darth Vader’s breathing, Wookie roars, and R2-D2’s beep-boops.

Three tracks from the album premiered on Apple Music’s Beats One Radio Monday, including Baauer’s “Cantina Boys,” Flying Lotus’ “R2 Where R U?” and Rubin’s own “NR-G7.” (Apple Music subscribers can listen to all three tracks here, here, and here.) The album art on Apple Music featured the album’s track list:

01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight” 02 GTA: “Help Me!” 03 TroyBoi: “Force” 04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys” 05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak] 06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift] 07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7” 08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen” 09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters” 10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan” 11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?” 12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke” 13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP” 14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder” 15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

Star Wars Headspace will be released digitally on February 19, with a physical album coming March 18.