National Book Critics Circle Finalists Include Chabon, Patchett, Smith


The National Book Critics Circle Finalists have announced their finalists and they include many of Flavorwire’s favorite books of the year. Special awards are going to Margaret Atwood for lifetime achievement, Yaa Gyasi for her debut novel Homegoing, and Flavorwire alumna Michelle Dean for criticism.

Read the full list at the NBCC website.


Michael Chabon, Moonglow (Harper)

Louise Erdrich, LaRose (Harper)

Adam Haslett, Imagine Me Gone (Little, Brown)

Ann Patchett, Commonwealth (Harper)

Zadie Smith, Swing Time (Penguin Press)


Matthew Desmond, Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City (Crown)

Ibram X. Kendi, Stamped From the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America (Nation Books)

Jane Mayer, Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right (Doubleday)

Viet Thanh Nguyen, Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War (Harvard University Press)

John Edgar Wideman, Writing to Save a Life: The Louis Till File (Scribner)