‘The Shape of Water,’ ‘Three Billboards’ Join Usual Winners in L.A. Film Critics Association Awards


The Los Angeles Film Critics Association handed out its year-end awards over the weekend, continuing the parade of honors for Call Me By Your Name, The Florida Project, and The Disaster Artist while bringing two new titles into The Awards Conversation™.

Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water and Martin McDonagh’s Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri were big winners at fall festivals (the former at Venice, the latter in Toronto), yet came away empty-handed from last week’s Gotham Awards and New York Film Critics Circle honors. But they both made quite a bit of noise in L.A. – Shape won Best Actress (for Sally Hawkins) and Best Cinematography (for Dan Laustsen), while del Toro tied with Luca Guadagnino for Call Me by Your Name. (Name won Best Picture; The Florida Project took the runner-up slot.) Shape’s Alexandre Desplat was also runner-up for Best Score.

And while Three Billboards didn’t win any of the L.A. critics’ prizes, it was runner-up for Best Actress (Frances McDormand), Best Supporting Actor (Sam Rockwell), and Best Screenplay (McDonagh). Lady Bird, a big winner in New York, made less noise on the west coast, with nods only for Laurie Metcalf’s supporting performance and a “New Generation” award for first-time solo director Greta Gerwig.

Here’s the full list of winners:

PICTURE: Call Me by Your Name Runner-up: The Florida Project

DIRECTOR: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino, Call Me by Your Name (tie)

ACTOR: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name Runner-up: James Franco, The Disaster Artist

ACTRESS: Sally Hawkins, The Shape Of Water Runner-up: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project Runner-up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird Runner-up: Mary J. Blige, Mudbound

SCREENPLAY: Jordan Peele, Get Out Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri ANIMATION: The Breadwinner Runner-up: Coco

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: BPM (Beats Per Minute) and Loveless (tie)

DOCUMENTARY / NON-FICTION FILM: Faces Places Runner-up: Jane NEW GENERATION: Greta Gerwig

FILM EDITING: Lee Smith, Dunkirk Runner-up: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water Runner-up: Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049 Runner-up: Paul D. Austerberry, The Shape of Water

MUSIC/SCORE: Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread Runner-up: Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water