Nina Simone, Bon Jovi Among This Year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees


The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its inductees for 2018, and as is their way, it’s a combination of worthy additions, “about time!” picks, and head-scratchers.

The Class of 2018 consists of Nina Simone, Bon Jovi, the Cars, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues, and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. (The latter is receiving the special “Award for Early Influence.”) The six inductees were selected from a field of 19 nominees; the passed-over include Eurythmics, Kate Bush, Rage Against the Machine, Depeche Mode, MC5, Judas Priest, The Zombies, The Meters, Link Wray, Rufus with Chaka Khan, and LL Cool J.

Oh, and Radiohead, who were so sure they wouldn’t get in, they had already scheduled a concert in Buenos Aires on the night of the induction ceremony.

That ceremony will be held April 14, 2018 at Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio.